Home » Radiology Technician » Certification

How to Become an ARRT-Certified Radiology Technician

Read all about radiology technician certification.

smiling tech sets scan equipment
Home » Radiology Technician » Certification

Radiology Certification and Licensure

In most states, radiologic technologists and other imaging professionals require licensure or certification after they have completed their education. Currently, about two-thirds of the states require radiology certification for radiologic technologists and technicians.

Graduation from an accredited program in medical radiography or radiologic sciences satisfies academic eligibility to apply to take the national certifying examination given by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT).

Getting Radiology Certification Through ARRT

ARRT tests and certifies radiologic technologists and administers continuing education and ethics requirements for annual registration.

ARRT offers 11 post-primary certifications for areas of specialty within the field. Candidates for post-primary certification must be registered by ARRT in the appropriate supporting discipline to be eligible.

Specialty Certifications for Radiologic Techs

Radiologist Assistant


Computed Tomography

Magnetic Resonance Imaging

Quality Management


Bone Densitometry

Vascular Sonography

Cardiac-Interventional Radiography

Vascular-Interventional Radiography

Breast Sonography

Cardiovascular-Interventional Radiography

Many radiographers register with ARRT annually to maintain registration of the certification. ARRT Registered Technologists use the initials “R.T.” To be recertified, radiographers must complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years.

Employers, state licensing agencies, and federal regulators look at the ARRT credential as an indicator that a person has met a recognized national standard for medical imaging professionals.